Two Announcements in Honor of AAPI Heritage Month AND Mental Health Awareness Month

May has become an excellent time to celebrate — May flowers, Mothers, NBA playoffs, allergies… and more recently this month helps us focus on two extremely important things to this Laundroteer — AAPI Heritage Month and Mental Health Awareness Month. For a whole month the nation shines a light on many of the overlooked stories and facts around these topics.

Being from Los Angeles, I have had incredible access to resources on my community’s history and culture, as well as the variety of mental health services offered, but across America ignorance surrounds one subject, while stigma surrounds the other. If you get a chance this May, go ahead and represent! Let the internet know that discussion of these topics doesn’t end in May (I definitely won’t stop being Chinese American on June 1). 😉

So with the excitement of education and awareness in the air, I’d love to update you on what’s going on with The Laundromat.

First, this is me. This is me with my DVD for my VERY FIRST FILM FESTIVAL EVER as a director.

IMG_3016

Bluray for 10th Annual Houston Asian Pacific American Film Festival

Yes, the excitement is palpable.

I’ve been invited to screen at the 10th Annual Houston Asian Pacific American Film Festival, which is hosted by OCA-Greater Houston on June 20-22 and 27-28. Their stated purpose is “to entertain and educate Asian American youth and young professionals, to reach out to the community, and to support Asian Pacific Islander artists and filmmakers. Through partnerships with community organizations, the film festival brings attendees together to appreciate the diversity of the Asian Pacific Islander American (APIA) community and the commonalities shared by the groups.

Sounds like my kinda fest. But here are the deets for my screening if you’re out there or know anyone who lives out there:

Saturday evening, June 21, 2014between 6pm – 10pm @ Brilliart Films (10905 Bellaire Blvd., Suite C, Houston, TX 77072) –> EVENT IS FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC

Anyway, go if you can! Talk it up if you can’t.

 

The SECOND fun update is that The Laundromat has been PODCASTING. With my excellent partner in crime, April, I’ve been able to continue the conversations she and many of my friends have started. Part of my excitement about the podcast is due to our exploration of a wide range of topics and our aim of accessibility. If I could sum up this experience in one sentence, it would be that we are breaking down the stigma of mental health one laugh and one shared experience at a time. The other great part of the pod is having more voices participate in the dialogue – new friends, old friends, and yes, Kristina Wong of Reparations for Yellow Fever all went on mic with us. We’re eternally grateful for their time, because they brought insight and examples for us to chew on… and very soon you can chew along with us!

The podcast has not yet been posted, but when it does go live, you’ll be the first to know. Seriously, April and I can’t wait to share it with you.

But in the meantime, go engage in your favorite Asian Am cultural activity and learn some new facts on mental health. I’m going to kill two birds with one stone and watch Joy Luck Club on repeat everyday until June.

Suyuan: That bad crab, only you tried to take it. Everybody else want best quality. You, your thinking different. Waverly took best-quality crab. You took worst, because you have best-quality heart. You have style no one can teach. Must be born this way… I see you.

 

**In my next post, I’ll share about the various college groups where I’ve had the privilege to show my movie. Get ready for some deep reflections y’all…

Leave a comment